MTI Recognizes Members, Scholarship Winners at Annual Awards Banquet

MTI celebrated its Annual Awards Banquet on Wednesday, October 25, 2017 following AmeriTAC 124 in San Antonio. Members and guests in attendance helped MTI honor the winners of the 2017 Member Participation Awards, Value Awards, and Scholarship Program.

Member Participation Awards began in 2016 with the recognition of Member Companies for their years of service and loyalty within MTI. This year, MTI presented three awards: For 10 years of membership – RL Industries, for 15 years of membership – Asahi Kasei Corporation, and for 20 years of membership – Lloyd’s Register Energy Americas.

MTI members also have the opportunity each year to receive recognition through the Value Awards program. Member award applications are reviewed by MTI Fellows and the Value Committee, and are ranked on different factors including, but not limited to technical merit and the value the member company gained from the use of MTI knowledge or resources. The points are totaled and the application with the highest score is awarded the Global Value Award.

This year, Chevron and NobelClad received an award for their joint value award application, and The Dow Chemical Company and TITAN Metal Fabricators received the Global Value Award during the banquet!

Not only do members benefit from MTI, but each year MTI offers students the opportunity to apply for the Bert Krisher Memorial Scholarship program. The program awards two $5,000 academic scholarships to students who demonstrate their effort in pursuing a career in Materials Engineering in the process industries. Winners of the 2017 scholarships, Ashley McKenna, Iowa State University, and Linsey Grzeschik, University of Akron, attended and were recognized during the banquet.


Awards Banquet Photos

MTI Executive Director Paul Whitcraft (left) presented the 15-year membership award to Masoa Nakahara (right) of Asahi Kasei. Representatives of Lloyd's Register and RL Industries were not able to attend.  

Joint MTI Value Award winners are pictured with the Chair of the Value Committee.
Left to Right: Maria Jose Landeira Oestergaard, Value Committee Chair; Chris Prothe, NobelClad; Kevin Ganschow, Chevron; and Mike Blakely, NobelClad. 

The MTI Scholarship Committee was pleased to recognize two 2017 recipients at the awards banquet. Pictured left to right: Ashley McKenna, Iowas State University; Srini Kesavan, MTI Scholarship Committee Chair; and Linsey Grzeschik, University of Akron.


The Global Value Award winner was a joint application between The Dow Chemical Company and TITAN Metal Fabricators.
Pictured from left to right: Maria Jose Landeira Oestergaard, Value Committee Chair; Marc Cook, The Dow Chemical Company; and David Barber, The Dow Chemical Company.

A representative from TITAN Metal Fabricators was unable to attend to accept the award.